Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 29
Like Tree4Likes

Thread: anchoring??

  1. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    392
    Member #
    38172
    Liked
    4 times
    ok, what im trying to do here is have a link in the page (from the html file to a existing site) and have it open in a new tab. the link comes up fine, blue underlined writing but when i click it and the tab opens i just get that error message

    also having problems with images and editing the link text i.e. trying to remove the underline. changing the colour works fine though

    all really basic stuff, maybe there are some wrong settings on my computer??
    so if someone had 5 mins to skype and teamviewer it would be awesome, im on skype all the time name is colepratt2

  2.  

  3. #12
    Senior Member Fireproofgfx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    839
    Member #
    31498
    Liked
    171 times
    DC web mention that your Head is in your body. Would you work if your head was up your "body"?? :P

    <html>
    <head>
    </head>
    <body>
    <a href="http://www.yourwebsite" target="blank" (note** this makes the link open in a separate window)>link name</a>
    </body>
    </html>

    so basically make sure you are not missing anything such as proper quotation marks, endings and that things are where they should be such as your <head> if not your website will not work properly.
    Last edited by Fireproofgfx; Jan 17th, 2014 at 12:17 PM.

  4. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    392
    Member #
    38172
    Liked
    4 times
    ive made the changes to the head etc.. ive tried everything. is their anyone who can have a look via tv, maybe there are browser settings amiss?

  5. #14
    Senior Member Ronald Roe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma City
    Posts
    3,139
    Member #
    27197
    Liked
    959 times
    This:
    Quote Originally Posted by coleio View Post
    /C:/Users/cole/Desktop/http//prattsofcarlow.ie.
    Means it's trying to grab prattsofcarlow.ie off your hard drive. The link needs to be
    Code:
    http://www.prattsofcarlow.ie
    in order to work.

    P.S. How do I make the editor not automatically parse URLs with the title of the page in place of the address?
    Ron Roe
    Web Developer
    "If every app were designed using the same design template, oh wait...Bootstrap."

  6. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    392
    Member #
    38172
    Liked
    4 times
    nope, for whatever reason its not loading the url in the address bar

  7. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    392
    Member #
    38172
    Liked
    4 times
    have this sorted now. retyped all the code and it works. dont know where i was going wrong though which is annoying.

    now on divs. im trying to get the title and text to align in the centre.
    on the .html file i have it all in the div and in the .css file i have this

    div{margin: auto;}

    shouldnt that automatically align it in the middle of the page?

  8. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    392
    Member #
    38172
    Liked
    4 times
    never mind, have to specify width lol

  9. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    392
    Member #
    38172
    Liked
    4 times
    ok so stuck again lol..
    im trying to get the entire page to have a grey background to have the one colour. i put in width: all; in the div and it worked, grey from one side to the other. then i tried the same with height... height: all; again, in the div but it didnt work

    what am i doing wrong with the height?

  10. #19
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,973
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    760 times
    Post the HTML you have now.

    I want to see how you are defining the CSS.


  11. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    392
    Member #
    38172
    Liked
    4 times
    checkitt...

    <!doctype html>
    <html>
    <head>
    <title> my website </title>
    <link rel="stylesheet" href="style.css"/>
    </head>

    <body>
    <div>
    <h1> my website </h1>
    <a href="http://www.prattsofcarlow.ie"> click here </a>
    </div>
    </body>
    <html>

    like i said, the width and colour being drawn from the css file work, just not the height.

    are there any good free coding programmes other than notepad?
    sublime text was good because it was numbered and had other options like autocomplete but after a while it asked me to pay.

    before you say google it, i would pick out the worst one there is and get a virus. thats just my luck haha


Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:32 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2021 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com