Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29
Like Tree4Likes

Thread: anchoring??

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    392
    Member #
    38172
    Liked
    4 times

    anchoring??

    hi, so im practicing some basic html coding and im stuck. im just trying to link a website, but its not working, ill attach a pic of what happens when i load in firefox and click on the link...here the code

    <!doctype html>
    <html>
    <head>
    <title>
    clive pratt
    </title>
    <body>
    <a href="http//prattsofcarlow.ie">my website</a>
    </body>
    </head>
    </html>

    ok so in the anchor tag i tried www. first and it didnt work, then i noticed on the tut i was watching he had http//

    ok so i dunno how to upload an image on this forum but this is what it says

    File not found

    Firefox can't find the file at /C:/Users/cole/Desktop/http//prattsofcarlow.ie.

    Check the file name for capitalization or other typing errors.
    Check to see if the file was moved, renamed or deleted.

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member DC Web Design's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    128
    Member #
    38178
    Liked
    37 times
    I think you mean http://
    TheGAME1264 likes this.

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    392
    Member #
    38172
    Liked
    4 times
    no bud i tried that and it just comes up blank

  5. #4
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,772
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    723 times
    I'm trying to figure out if you mean a link to another website, or a link to a place within your existing page.

    When I think of "anchor", I'm thinking that you click a link and it drops down the same page to an "anchor" point.

    If you're just talking about a link to another website, you have things wrong with your HTTP. The <body> can't be inside the <head>

    So try this:

    Code:
    <!DOCTYPE HTML>
    <html>
    <head>
    <title>clive pratt</title>
    </head>
    <body>
    
    <p>
    <!-- links to another site, and opens it in a new window or tab by using the target property -->
    <a href="http://www.webdesignforums.com" target="_blank">Web Design Forums</a>
    </p>
    
    <p>
    <!-- this is an anchor link that moves the cursor to a place within this same page -->
    <a href="#anchorThree">Link to section 3</a>
    </p>
    
    <p>
    This is section one
    </p>
    
    <p>
    This is section two
    </p>
    
    <a name="anchorThree"></a>
    <p>
    This is section three
    </p>
    
    <p>
    This is section four
    </p>
    
    </body>
    </html>
    Like I said about Google in another post, you can find some sites that have HTML5 instructions:
    http://www.w3schools.com/html/html5_intro.asp
    Last edited by mlseim; Jan 16th, 2014 at 08:06 PM.


  6. #5
    Senior Member Ronald Roe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma City
    Posts
    3,139
    Member #
    27197
    Liked
    959 times
    You are missing a colon. Also. some sites require the www at the beginning.
    Ron Roe
    Web Developer
    "If every app were designed using the same design template, oh wait...Bootstrap."

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    392
    Member #
    38172
    Liked
    4 times
    mlsiem, you are right about the body and head thing, stupid mistake
    yeah, im referrring to linking to another site
    heres the tut

    https://tutsplus.com/lesson/anchors/

    ill try what you suggested tomorrow, trying to get some sheep now, not going well

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    392
    Member #
    38172
    Liked
    4 times
    no its still not working, does anyone wanna teamviewer this with me??

  9. #8
    Senior Member Ronald Roe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma City
    Posts
    3,139
    Member #
    27197
    Liked
    959 times
    It looks like you're running straight from a file. Before you try to bring someone in on teamviewer, run it up in some kind of server software (or on an actuall server for that matter) and see if it works on there.
    Ron Roe
    Web Developer
    "If every app were designed using the same design template, oh wait...Bootstrap."

  10. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    392
    Member #
    38172
    Liked
    4 times
    i thought that might be the problem but the guy in the tutorial is doing it from a file aswell?

  11. #10
    Senior Member DC Web Design's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    128
    Member #
    38178
    Liked
    37 times
    I didn't even notice the part of the <body> being within the <head>. Not surprised it doesn't work with that.

    There's nothing that I can see wrong with mlseim's code above though. So you put that in an .html file, and it is showing up blank when you open it up in a web browser?

    I'm just trying to figure out what exactly you're trying to do, and what's not working. Just saying "it's not working" isn't quite enough for us to effectively troubleshoot.
    Fireproofgfx likes this.


Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:46 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2020 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com