Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #

Question do I have to own a domain to make a website?

This is my first time learning to design websites, and I'm planning to attend Full Sail University for the program.

however I don't get the basic concept of website designing.

1 .Am I allowed to make a domain like "www._______.com" any time I want to for myself, or am I supposed to buy one?

2. If i do buy or make one, is it permanent?

3. also, if I do make a domain or own a domain, how would I be able to edit it and program it if I want to upgrade the website?
    its not like there is ID and PW for administrators for the website, does the domain get linked to a specific IP address and when someone uses the IP to log on, are they allowed to edit the website or something?

Member #
    Liked
    723 times
    There are two separate accounts you create (you pay for online using a credit card) ...

1) Domain name. This account is purchased from a domain host. You pay for it by the year (or multiple years). It has to be domain name not yet taken. Once you have it, you can point the domain name to any website. It is yours forever as long as you keep the account paid and current.

2) Website account. This account is from a webhost (or shared webhost), such as GoDaddy. Again, you pay by the year (or multiple years). You can access your website without a domain. Accessing without a domain requires a URL such as godaddy.com/~andrewkim

So to have a nice, clean URL, like andrewkim.com, you would need to purchase that domain name.
    Of course, most easy to remember domain names are already taken (such as andrewkim.com)

Many webhosts offer BOTH accounts at the same time.