Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Liked
    2 times

Tools for Modifying Site

Hi,

I have a client who invented a kind of a healing device. He sells them at trade shows and through representatives. He uses an MLM system and has a few websites.

The main one, set up by greystarsolutions.com, allows admins to give reps a username, a login, and it generates a unique rep-version of the webpage for each rep. You may have seen this kind of site before. I have, but don’t really know how they work.

I am fairly new to web design and know enough to be dangerous. And, I have access - an admin log on, a rep log on, and access to their FTP site.

I have mostly been working with Wordpress. I know some HTML, have 15 years in IT, networking, database and desktop support.

So, I am looking for some help!

I kind of get what’s going on, and some of the database stuff I know ties in with this, and if it is not handled right, can break.

So, some of the things I would like help with are:

1. The rep-generated sites differ from the main one. I’d like to know how they are generated.

2. There’s a picture he’d like to have removed from those rep-generated home pages. I don’t where that is/how those are made.

3. Tools - I want to have the right tools to do editing. It’s not Wordpress, this is more html. A friend advised Dreamweaver. I am getting that and PhotoShop. Any other tools I should know about?

4. I plan to have a conversation with Greystar soon, so I know where things are and are set up, granted they will share this. Besides basic Q&A, anything else I need to do or ask?

5. I think he’s imagined changing this site to another system. But I know it’s involved. I don’t want any hair-pulling. Is that a good idea? If so, what are some better options?

6. Any other ideas?