Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By mlseim

Thread: newb with basic design question...

Member #

Question newb with basic design question...

hey guys,
    i'm self-taught with limited knowledge so go easy on me

I am currently brainstorming a site for a small business of mine....it will only be maybe 10-12 pages or so....nothing flashy, no cart needed, just an information site....however, i will require the left and right menu columns to be frequently/easily updated without having to edit every single page...or to put it another way, i'd like to be able to edit one page with class times, etc and have it it show on all the other 12 pages....i'd like to stay away from a CMS if this can be achieved without it (i generally just buy clean templates and use dreamweaver and photoshop to customize them to my liking)...so, what can you guys suggest? any input would be greatly appreciated...

thank you

Member #
    Liked
    1 times
    How about frames?
    You can seggregate the browser windows in several sections including the left and right sidebars and load different documents on each frame. Then you just have to edit a single page and it will show up in all the pages.

Sent from my Nokia_XL

Member #
    Liked
    720 times
    Are you editing only text?

Or I should ask it this way ....

You mention class times?
    Let's say the content you will be changing on your site could be done using a spreadsheet (like Excel).

If you could update one spreadsheet (with class times, or some other information) and that information automatically appeared on your website, would that be something you would like to have?

Also, is your website on a shared webhost, where you have access to the whole website and you can use PHP scripting?

Member #