Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: Never had this happen before and need help

Member #

Unhappy Never had this happen before and need help

When I put my website into google search it shows the correct URL but an incorrect title and description. When you click on it it redirects you to some Black Friday web site. I have checked all my meta tags and I don't have anything that would have made it index this way. It has been fine for a year now all of a sudden this happens. I called my hosting company and they were no help. Can someone look at it for me please? The name of the company is SBS Constructors.
    Sorry if I posted on the wrong thread. This is my first time!
    Thanks!

Member #
    Liked
    959 times
    That is a bit weird. The site has been redirected, but it returns a 200 response code in the header. There's no 301 redirect that I can see, and no redirect on the returned HTML that I can see. With any user agent I send, it returns the HTML for your site. However, if I spoof the user agent as the googlebot, it returns the black friday site's HTML, but with the same headers.

I'm not sure what's going on here. Maybe someone else can take that info and run with it?
    Ron Roe
    Web Developer
    "If every app were designed using the same design template, oh wait...Bootstrap."

Member #
    Thank you for your reply Ronald. I hope someone can figure it out. I don't know if switching hosting sites would make a difference or not.

Member #
    Liked
    2783 times
    It was doing it, but it seemed to fix itself. My guess was that your stat counter is responsible. It's where I was noticing "hack style" behavior.