Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #

Cannot find website text to edit

Hello everybody,

I am a newbie... I got a pre-designed website and I would like to change a certain text on it (the website isn't live yet). I could not figure out how to change that text! I tried the following:

- I used DocFetcher to search the entire files for that text (generally I find text this way).
    - I used Firefox browser to check if I find more information about the text element. I found the css files where the styles can be edited. The text is visible in the inspector but does anybody know how to find out where it is saved? Is it possible that text can somehow be coded so it is not visible?

Code from the inspector:

<div id="fb">
    <p>
    [then the text]
    </p>
    </div>

Any help is appreciated!

Member #
    Liked
    718 times
    Before you change anything, does the author of your pre-defined website offer software updates? If they do, you might end-up overwriting any changes you manually make to your files. Just something you need to check on.

We couldn't tell you anything about where to look without seeing the files you purchased or downloaded. Some sites are done using templates, some use cross-reference files to allow multiple languages (english, french, german, etc).

Maybe the text you want to change is not part of the website files, but instead, it's something you should be changing in a database?

Is your site a static website, or dynamic (such as WordPress, Joomla, etc)? Show us where you purchased it or downloaded it.

Not enough info to answer your question.

Member #
    Hi mlseim,