Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #

Advice for freelance - Developer but not designer, SEO expert or copywriter

I am a hobbyist web developer and I am looking to do freelance work.

My target is small businesses but the problem with them is that they don't have any idea about what they want. All they say is "I need a website".

I love to do write code but I don't know how to approach the other parts: design, content (text, images) and SEO.

Basically, a customer wants me to do the website and they expect next day to be on first page on Google. HUH!

I will describe below the way I do it now and I would appreciate any advice from you.

1. Domain and hosting. Do I do it right?

I buy domain and hosting on my name and charge the customer twice the price. Same when they need renewal, usually every year. At this point I ask customer for first payment (25% of project's price).

2. Design. Always templates.

I send a proposal of 3 templates, they choose one and then I buy it. Soon as the template is installed, time for another payment (25%).

3. Content (text and images). First pain!

IMAGES: Usually, they are included in templates. If not or need more, I buy them from iStock and then charge the customer.

TEXT: These kind of customers cannot supply me with any text for their website. They expect me to do it but I am not a copywriter and I hate doing text. Worse, if they supply me with text, pretty much is a copy-paste from their competitors that will affect SEO. How do you handle this part and how should I do it? Remember, the budget is limited so hiring a copywriter is not a handy option.

4. SEO. THE BIG PAIN!

As I said, all customers expect to be on first page just next day after website is completed. Well, we know this is just a dream.