Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #

new school vs old school - the short novel

I'm an inhouse designer at a small business. My design team consists of me and a college kid. This business has been around since the 80s and we have a lot of customers that have been with us for a long time. Our current website looks like it was made in 1995 (maybe it was?), usability is TERRIBLE, and SEO is not up to speed, so me and my "team" are working on a redesign. As far as content goes, it's going to be nearly identical to the current site, but we are definitely modernizing it (hello responsive! finally!).

Here's my problem- part of my job is going to be to show our new design to the sales staff. Since they are the ones talking to the customers, and the customers are the ones on the site, sales obviously needs to be on board with the site as well. Since I've been working here, we've had the same reoccurring argument where the sales guys
    1. fight change
    2. insist that their customers (my site users) are old school so "new school" design is just not what they want

They want a website that looks like an excel spreadsheet. And don't even get me STARTED on how many times they've told me to make the logo bigger!