Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Liked
    3 times

Recycling Website for e-waste buyers

I am working on building a web site for my recycling business. I am using this as a way to see how much I can do on my own before calling reinforcements. I want a professional looking, acting, and working site. A simple design is alright as long as it looks good.

Here is what I would like to do:

Home Page

Price List (This is a list of what I pay for each type of product or board)

Recycling News (I would like to use this for content.)

Visual Identification Guide (Pictures of each product and a description.)

My programming skills are very little. HTML is about it and I am a beginner. I did take QBasic in college, insert giggles here. My greatest accomplishment is creating a Facebook cover photo. I am getting good at taking pictures and editing them. My strengths are writing, sales, and marketing. I am learning every day. I need some help to figure out what the best way to proceed is. Here are my ideas.

Wordpress, all the free themes seem to not do what I want or do it in an uncomfortable way. I can't get exactly what I want or even close enough to compromise. It seems like I spend all my time figuring out what I can't do, or realizing the limitations. Could I overcome this by customizing the theme? Is it worth learning to customize the theme or would my time be better spent learning to code my site from scratch? I know this is a hard question to answer but would it take me say 40 hours to learn to and customize the theme as opposed to say 120 hours to learn to code the design I want from scratch? Or am I way off here?