Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By Vapr_Arts
  • 1 Post By TheGAME1264

Thread: Rookie questions

Member #

Rookie questions

Hello

Im a rookie to the web design/development field. I have taking a couple of html classes that peeked my interest. I ultimately want to be a freelancer. I have a few questions before I dive into the web design/development feel with both feet.

Is it a stable field? I know IT is going down badly. What about web design & development? Also which is better to do web design or web development or both. Besides HTML5 & CSS3 what other programs do I need to learn? Any advice would help

Mike

Member #
    Liked
    544 times
    The design side is flooded with people who know HTML/CSS as well as javascript. Definitely learn all three but you should focus on development more if you want to stay relevant. Learn things like PhP, and or Ruby on Rails. Try to learn Java (which is different from JavaSCRIPT) and Objective C. Java is used on android if im not mistaken and Objective C is used with IOS.

Your still going to be in a crowded market but this should help keep you floating above a larger portion of people.

Regretfully sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk during lunch and other breaks
    TheGAME1264 likes this.

Member #
    Liked
    2783 times
    I'm going to answer your second-last question first, because it's the easiest and because it will lead into my deeper answer. If you're equally good at both, do web development over web design but retain as much design knowledge as you can. If you have a strong aptitude for one or the other, pick the one you're good at if you can.