Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #

An exp Leveling system

I am not a designer, so please keep that in mind. Most I have done is copy and paste HTML into dreamweaver while dragging and dropping the rest.

I am here for your help in determining what is needed (So I can properly describe it and convey my concept to someone who can help)

It goes a little something like this (And is subject to change based on difficulty/possibility):
    New members when they sign up start at level 1.
    To reach level 2, you gain exp. this is accomplished several ways. Participating in web site based activities, such as polls, donations, contests, and by social media. The latter is what I am worried about accomplishing, but I would like to reward exp based on twitter retweets of site content, shares on FB etc.

Can someone assist with the nitty gritty on this?

Member #
    Liked
    2783 times
    If you're looking for someone to tell you what sorts of things you'd require, I can tell you what you'll need in terms of "tools". If you're looking for someone to tell you how the tools go together and what goes where and how that is laid out, that's unfortunately beyond the scope of this and any other forum.

1. A server-side programming language. Dreamweaver and any drag-and-drop technology won't help you here. You need something along the lines of PHP, ASP.net, classic ASP, Ruby on Rails, or Java (not to be confused with javascript).

2. A database. MySQL, SQL Server, etc.

3. HTML/CSS/Javascript to display the pages, the activities, the polls, etc. This is where you may need a designer, but a designer alone won't suffice in this case.