Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By mlseim

Thread: Web Development help please!

Member #

Web Development help please!

To say I am a novice with trying to build our put together a site is a huge understatement I'd like if I could an outline on how to build a site, similar to http://www.truecar.com [EDIT: link changed by TheGAME1264 because it was an affiliate link before]. i want to be able to put together integration with api's, database management, back end necessities and open for improvement! Where do I start, how do I begin ? Can someone list step by step what to do? Thank you k bye.
    Last edited by TheGAME1264; Apr 21st, 2015 at 08:06 AM.

Member #
    I think what I'm asking is a task list from a Web developer to break this down for me so I can plow through this. I want it to work great and glow. I just need help....

Member #
    Liked
    718 times
    You have one huge decision to make even before you start.
    1) Should the webhost server be Windows or UNIX/Linux?
    2) Should you use ASP.net (on Windows Server) or PHP (on UNIX/Linux)?

If you choose PHP, this is a good tutorial on MySQLi, which is the database you will use for all of the data:
    https://www.codeofaninja.com/2011/12...-tutorial.html

If you choose ASP, you'll have to find other tutorials (as I'm not an ASP user).

When you are able to CRUD (Create, Read, Update and Delete) with your MySQLi database, that will be a big step in the right direction.

Good luck ... you're in for a huge adventure. But go for it. You'll learn a lot.
    Vapr_Arts likes this.

Member #