Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By mlseim

Thread: Possible Fraud Website Design Request

Member #

Possible Fraud Website Design Request

Hi,

I'm a website designer and have a website offering my services. I was contacted by a potential client to design a website. Awesome right!!! but the email I received is making me think it could be a scam... The first sentence was that has was hearing impaired and that's why he is emailing. (I also work at a bank and a lot of scams come from "customers" claiming they are hearing impaired and they need assistance transferring funds over TTY service lines or email). that was the first red flag. The second red flag was asking if we accept credit cards and that his budget is $8000, which is awesome but talking to him more he just needs a simple informational website... People just don't pay that kind of money for only informational websites! He wants me to host the site and register the domain name, which also brings up red flags to me.

Has anyone else experienced something similar and do you thin this could be a spam? Anything scam stories?

Thank you very much for your replays.

Member #
    Liked
    718 times
    Anyone can go to a webhost like GoDaddy and subscribe to a webhost account and domain name at the same time ... using a credit card. Ask him to do that and THEN he can email you the account information (the information GoDaddy sends to him, he can forward to you). It's really easy to get an account and there is no reason he can't do it himself. If he's serious, he'll do it. Otherwise you should say "thanks, but no thanks". Did he even suggest a domain name that you are supposed to register?

Lead him on for a while ...this could be entertaining. Keep up posted.