Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    fox
    Member #

Need help for study

Hi there
    For now I am studying IT in my colledge in Germany and it makes much fun... Right now, my favourite subject beside programming is webdesign, and I would like to go deeper in this staff as we only get basic knowledge there... But I am not sure what to learn and where to start... In colledge we learnt HTML5 lasts semesters and have CSS 3 in the first and second semesters... Furthermore we learn MySQL 5.0 and gonna get php, communications protocols (like https) and some other stuff ( we still do not know which ) in the thirs semester... I already lent some books about JavaScript in our library and hope to get some courses where I can proof I know something about it!
    But anyway, what else should I learn to be a good designer later on? Which tricks, languages etc? Can you give some advertises on books or sites ( No matter if they are in German, Russian, English or Spanish) ? Or help me somehow?
    Thank you

Member #
    Liked
    544 times
    I wouldn't put too much trust in books. The process to get a book written/published is a long process and in that time these languages continue to change. Sure these books can help you learn the fundamentals but a lot of the time after reading a book i find another way of doing something that is much simpler and more accurate.

My approach to learning is 99% online. I first started with sites like Codecademy. This taught me the fundamentals id need to proceed with step two.