Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Where did you start?

Member #

Where did you start?

Hello All,

I have an idea, and to me it is a good idea. I assume you could guess, it is a Website.

TL-DR - I need to know where/how you became a web developer

For those that have some time and want more info

To start, I do have a background working with computers. I graduated a mechanical engineering technologist program. Basically a glorified CAD design program. Aside from some basic API within the CAD software, I am completely green when it comes to code/programming/developing/html, etc...

Sadly the CAD design route didn't work out and now I am a Production Miner, I work over 5000+ feet underground in a mindless endless job. Which has led me to this great idea. A website.

I have been researching the best route to create this website and have come up to a roadblock. I don't know where to start. Some key points,
    • I want to do this myself, not pay someone to get it done
    • I don't have time to enroll in a local college or school to educate because I work shift work, it is an irregular schedule, it doesn't work well with program schedules
    • I know this can't be done in a week, month or even years perhaps, but I am willing to invest my spare time, which I have lots of, I basically work half the year with my shift schedule

I have heard good things about resources such as Lynda or Treehouse, but I am not sure with my skill level if paying for a service right out of the gate is beneficial. There are so many free tutorials and guides, that maybe I should run through as many of those as I can before enrolling into a subscription program.