Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By TheGAME1264
  • 1 Post By mlseim

Thread: A question from someone who knows nothing :)

Member #

A question from someone who knows nothing :)

Hello

I've been thinking about Web Design/Graphic art off and on and I'm at a point in my life where I would like to at least give this a try.

I have ZERO experience or knowledge in Web Design, but only a curious mind.

So, I'm here to ask people who know more than I (which is all of you who read this)...where is a good place to start? I'm taking the basics of the basics. Am I better off picking up a "Dummies for" book? Is there a website that teaches the basics?

Any input and advice is greatly appreciated.

Thank you

Member #
    Liked
    718 times
    oh my ...

I think that people get "into things" because they have a passion for it, from a long time prior to making lifetime commitments. For example, I wouldn't start learning how to be a car mechanic unless I had a passion for working on cars and troubleshooting and repairing mechanical things. It would be foolish for me to just "buy a book" and start learning. Maybe if it is something you are suddenly interested in, there's no reason you wouldn't want to learn. But to make it a career? To expect to make money or a living from doing it? There's a difference between a passion and an interest.

If you are a really good artist, and have an eye for design, color, typography, human psychology, and you want to put your already learned skills toward a career in web design, then go for it. Find other people that do the same thing, contact them and make some connections. Partner with someone who develops websites.