Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Hi from Australian Designer

Member #
    Liked
    1 times

Hi from Australian Designer

Hello everyone

Im a 50 yo Designer from Australia.
    Ive been involved in web design and development for over 17 years, mainly in e-learning related areas (first 10 years), but for the past 8 or so years Ive focused mainly on design as a part time freelancer. In the early days pretty much everything I built was done using 'Dreamweaver'. In later years I moved to content management systems, mainly Joomla.

I have no real HTML5 experience, apart from using 'mobirise', and Ive come here to get some help on finding the best ways to create 'adaptive websites' . Best software, templates etc.

For design I use Photoshop and want to find the best way to get designs from Photoshop into a an adaptive HTML5 format.

Thanks in advance.

Member #
    Liked
    2783 times
    Oi oi oi! I like your football, even though I don't fully understand it and can only find it on TV occasionally. If they ever brought AFL to North America, the NFL would be toast.

To answer your last question first, "you really can't". When you lay something out in Photoshop, you lay it out for a specific set of dimensions (in particular, the width)...when you lay out a web page that is to be responsive, you lay it out for as many browser widths and if necessary heights as possible. About all you can do with Photoshop is extract the images/backgrounds for web purposes.

Software? Pretty much any text editor will do the trick, although one with syntax highlighting (e.g. Notepad++, Visual Studio Express) will make your life much easier and won't wreck your code.