Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #

Need some help with custom search form/directory and best website builder for this?

I am planning to build a website and I am stuck on which website builder to use with what I am trying to do (I hope using a website builder is an option).

I have used Wix a bunch of times but I am not sure if it will work for this. I am also looking into Wordpress and I am open to better options. I have some coding experience but very limited although I have built some things before learning on my own.

There will a directory that will allow reviews which will have to be confirmed before they are posted by users.
    I will also need to implement a search box which will allow users to put in some search criteria which could have a drop down box and also include nearest geographical location. Examples would be like finding a specific contractor, finding a doctor, finding a business, etc.

I would like to know what the best/simplest website builder to accomplish this would be- with minimal coding required and also what would be the best way to creating a search box like I explained above and implementing this?

I've looked all over and can't seem to find any clear answer,

Thanks a lot!

Member #
    Liked
    718 times
    You cannot use Wix or Weebly because you'll need to use PHP with a database. They don't allow that.

So you're down to WordPress with an "Angie's List" plugin, or doing the site yourself. I have looked for other pre-made PHP scripts that are like an Angie's List clone. Most of them are old and use MySQL, which is obsolete. The "old and commonly used" PHP MySQL command set/functions should not be used. You need to use PHP / PDO with your webhost's exiting MySQL database. Wordpress is too clunky for what you are doing.