Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Liked
    11 times

networking question, packet switching

So I'm studying switches and I read that a switch only establishes a connection long enough for the packet to be sent, then it terminates the connection or switches it off or whatever, so how is a session established through a switch?

Member #
    Liked
    959 times
    The next non-switch node establishes the session. For instance, if you have a PC that goes to a switch, then the switch connects to a router, the session is established on the router. Switches only look at the destination IP/MAC, attempt match it on their table and forward out the port that leads there.
    Ron Roe
    Web Developer
    "If every app were designed using the same design template, oh wait...Bootstrap."

Member #
    Liked
    11 times
    I'm not sure I follow, the switch determines where to send a single packet relevant to a mac address it has on its table (do routers have mac addresses too?) so lets say this packet is a request for a facebook login page, the switch reads the mac address that's at the datalink layer, then sends it to a router, how does the router get back to the client?

Member #
    Liked
    959 times
    First: every single IP enabled device has a MAC address. IPv4 uses both the device's IP address and MAC address to find and communicate with devices on a network.