Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    2
    Member #
    57502

    Multiple selection criteria/dropdowns to links

    Hello folks - new here and trying to build a simple webpage on godaddy. Honestly rather lost - but I don't see how to do this thing

    I need to have 2 drop down selections (I think I know how to make these and add selections, maybe)- the user picks 1 from each - and then a submit button to match those 2 results to a certain youtube video.


    For example:
    The first dropdown could have "Mom", and "Dad", and the second could have "kid1" and "kid2" - each combo would link to a different video after clicking the submit button (that would have those 2 people in it). I can't figure out how to essentially have a series of if/then statements based on the dropdown selections.



    so like
    if var1=Mom and var2=kid1 then youtubeurl=whatever1
    if var1=Mom and var2=kid2 then youtubeurl=whatever2

    etc.



    any help would be super-appreciated!


    skiller

  2.  

  3. #2
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,724
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    718 times
    When you say "simple webpage on godaddy", do you mean you are using their built-in page builder, or are you creating it from scratch with your own scripting?

    To have a "chained menu selection", which is what I think you mean, this involves scripting, such as PHP.

    Is this what you mean?
    https://demo.tutorialzine.com/2011/1...elects-jquery/


  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    2
    Member #
    57502
    As for Godaddy - I could not find anything they offer pre-built to use like this - but I think you can add custom elements? I don't need to do it at godaddy - that's just where I grabbed the domain name. I haven't really investigated like squarespace and whoever else to see if they have these features..

    I guess that example could work. Its not exactly what I had pictures in my head - which were two different dropdowns on the screen at once - with like a submit button underneath them.

    Actually thinking about it - not sure that's quite it. As I want both dropdowns to contain all selections - not just a subset that changes based on the first choice. I would think that would make it easier.

    skiller
    Last edited by skiller1234; Oct 05th, 2017 at 01:41 PM.

  5. #4
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,724
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    718 times
    It will still require server-side scripting to process the selections ... Example, using PHP with JQuery (AJAX)



Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Tags for this Thread

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:51 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com