Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #

Web page to collect and store user info.

Ok... Background. Done lots of programming of excel / sql / some HTML / some ASP.net / some javascript and good at the first dangerous on the remaining.

Ok so here's what I want to ask. .... and if need be break this thread up into smaller subjects.

1. Web page will be personal ( aka on my own network in my house )
    2. Have installed and am using Windows IIS manager ( ok it runs and I've made things and they work ) I'm just not an expert on web / networking.
    3. Have diabetes and get tired of having to plug in a bunch of numbers into my spread sheet at one time. Usually, have a smart phone with me so that if I had a simple web page to put a reading or two in at a time it would make me smile

4. So ... to start .... I need to make a website that has a front page where I would put in data ... and when I click submit some page of code or what have you would take that data and save it to a, let's say, csv file. I'll have excel look for new files and import them later.

So I do not know what code php, java, vbscript, or whatever is out there that will 1 work on IIS ( without having to install anything else ) and save data to said file.

I'm fine with that front page being nothing more than a form that has 1 text box and a submit button. What I need is just a how. I've learned all my programming by finding examples ... and then learning as I go.

Regards,
    Barry

Member #
    Liked
    959 times
    Seems like you could just use Google Sheets or something similar. You can edit that from a smartphone. Or maybe just move your Excel sheet to OneDrive, and use the MS Excel mobile app to edit it.