Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #

Help needed with form design..i think!

Hi all,

This is a great resource. Thanks!

This may sound like a dumb question but I am new to the web design world and I am trying to create a site that is similar in principle to the one care.com uses. What I mean is that I need the site to be able to capture the profile of employees ( fields like availability to work, skill set, contact details etc) and then make all those profiles searchable by employers.

The employer would then choose who they require, and the site (form) would automatically email the person chosen. Like I said, kinda like care.com

Could someone please point me in the right direction. Would I be able to use site builders like wix, weebly etc and what types of forms/databases would I need?

All advice is greatly appreciated, thx Steve.

Member #
    Liked
    726 times
    For sure you can't use a "free" webhost like Wix or Weebly ... they don't allow server-side scripting (such as PHP)

So you'll get a shared webhost account with GoDaddy or whoever, and create your website there.

You might be able to find a pre-made script that is close to what you want, but will need to customize it.

A quick Google search I find this:
    https://codecanyon.net/item/job-portal/15330095

For $27, you have the backbone for your website. There are probably a few more scripts similar (I didn't spend much time researching it).

You probably will hire a freelancer to install it, configure, get it working, and customize for you.

As a beginner, this will be a steep learning curve if you decide to do this yourself ... but it can be done.

Member #