Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #

Creating website to display weather graphs

Hi,

I am an experienced C++ programmer, but have never worked with web design before.

I have a weather station outside mye house logging wind, temperature, humidity, etc.The data is stored in a file on my computer.

I want to create a web-site where the data is displayed in real time as graphs. But I have no idea how to get started. Could someone please recomment which tools ect. I should use to make my web-site. I think I'm able to create a web server, so it's the web site itself I need help with.

Thanks a lot in advance!

Member #
    Liked
    723 times
    What is the model / make of your weather station? How does it connect to PC?

With an Arduino, Raspberry Pi, or Electric Imp, all data can be immediately sent to a remote website using WiFi. You won't even need your PC. The issue would be how the weather station transmits its data.

The website would be using PHP and an SQL database. There are probably existing JQuery weather station GUI's that could be used. PHP would grab data from database (as that is where your data would be stored) and dynamically generate a webpage.

Something like that. I make it sound simple, but it probably isn't.

Member #
    Thanks a lot, mlseim! All I hoped for was a point in the right direction, and your answer seems to have given me just that.
    I'ts a home made weather station and I'm reading the sensors directly on an old PC I had laying around.

Member #
    Liked
    723 times
    Describe the electronics. What the sensors go to, as they attach somehow to your old PC.

I might have some hardware ideas for you ... as in Arduino. Not very expensive either.

Member #