Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: Responsive web design

Member #

Responsive web design

Hello,

First - set the stage - I am not a web designer. Looking for some direction on how to work with my current designer.

Website is done and we're happy with it. One issue that's lingering though.

When I view the site on my laptop, images are sized correctly. I can change the size of my window and all resizes as it should. Designer and developer both sent me screen shots where they see images resizing according to their monitor size. Problems arise when we're viewing the site via a large monitor that is connected to a laptop via a docking station or HDMI cable. The images are not resizing and are really zoomed in. I've tested it on several computers at our company. We're all coming with the same results. Looks great on laptop, ridiculous when docked. If we test the same way with other website, they respond as they should regardless of what we're viewing it from. 90% of our target audience uses a docking station or HDMI connect so it has to be resolved.

Any direction on why this is? I am hearing from developer that I need to reach out to our IT department (that's me). But I am seeing this as a developer problem since we've tested with other website and are not having the issue. Not looking to hang her....we have a great working relationship. But hoping there's something that she's missing that we can uncover.

Website is factor8.com. Thanks.

Member #
    Liked
    705 times
    I would try using CSS to define a "maximum width" for images, or your div container (however you have things defined).
    They can shrink all they want, but will stop growing at a defined size.