Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By delstu

Thread: Restricting Website access

Member #

Restricting Website access

Hi,

I am an experienced web developer but I am a little (lot) out of my depth on this one.

The project requires that the owner places information on a webpage, one whole page of a report, so its one whole webpage.. (its a financial site)

The owner then wants to send a link to another party so that they can read that page and no other pages, its a financial report.

what MUST NOT HAPPEN is that the page must not be accessible by other parties like snoopers, other users and definitely not search robots.

So its one page that can only be accessed by an authorized party, preferably through a single URL click link..

We have available PHP, Javascript, .htaccess and cookies.

I think I can stop search engines by using the robots file, provided they abide by the robot rules.

But snoopers ? and other users just fiddling with URLS?

How do I implement this type of security?

Any help appreciated.

Member #
    Liked
    299 times
    Require a unique password to access the page.
    muuwebdesign likes this.

Member #
    Liked
    6 times
    Can you use Google Drive to post the report? That would probrably be the safest and easiest option and then give the party access to the document.
    Muu Web Design | Life is awesome!

Member #
    Liked
    723 times
    Create a PHP user register and login script.
    Then it uses PHP SESSION to control what a person sees.
    This also uses an SQL database so information is queried only to the people who need it.

It can also allow PDF files to be generated (financial reports) and emailed to people or only served to people who are allowed to view it.