Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Thread: Why oh why?

Member #

Why oh why?

May I please be allowed a tiny little moan addressed to those who design professional webpages?

The way that all sites display videos seems to me to be flawed. I'm not a designer so maybe I am asking the impossible, but can't videos be displayed in a box with spare space below for all the gubbins that currently invades the video space? I have two screen grabs to show what a mess video display currently is.

stupid design 2.jpg
    stupid design 1.jpg

As you see there is a lot wrong here.

the progress bar is on top of the video not below it
    the up next banner obscures the image
    the next video automatically plays which is SOOO annoying
    If I went full screen a darn great banner tells me to pres ESC to exit that mode. Hello? I do know that!!

On Netflix, things are worse. In trying too hard Netflix make their site almost unusable, at least on a normal desktop. I saw a video once of how Netflix boasted how much effort they put into their UI but sadly their efforts have failed in my view!

If any designer is reading this and is feeling a wee bit embarrassed or indignant at my nativity, please do tell all!! LOL.

Oh and finally, I tried a tag "UI" which seemed appropriate but your web design said the tag was too short!!! Ha. Ha.

Member #
    Bump. No one interested in a valid complaint? No one willing to add an informed comment?

Member #
    Liked
    723 times