Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #

Question How do you measure your web design works well for users?

Hey everyone,

I just found this community via web search and this is my first time I ever write to a design community so please excuse me if the topic or the place is not appropriate! Happy to take pointers to some other places!

I am the software architect of a web analytics tool named Keytiles.
    And we would like to explore the possibilities how an analytics tool could help more/best in answering the question (see title of this topic).
    We as developers of the tool have some ideas and the new version of our tool already collecting some metrics which we think could be very interesting (and not collected by any other analytics tool AFAIK) but rather we trying to figure out what to do / how to do with them we thought it is a better idea to ask the guys and professionals at this point:

As web designers
    what would you be interested in most?
    (in order to answer the question)

To flash up some metrics we have:
    • we do track effective web browser window size (and not just screen resolution)
    • we do track browser tabs - how many the user is using and also from which content he spawned a new browser tab (right click, open new window/tab)
    • we do track window resize actions done by the user (and we also do know which content was viewed by the user when this was done) / per browserTab
    • we also track screen orientation changes (so phone was turned)*/ per browserTab

... and some more but maybe the above is enough for now as just encourage thinking a bit ...

We would appreciate any ideas (even in a brainstorming form) / feedback from professional web developers at this point