Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Heya everyone.
    Thought I'd introduce myself. I work in Derby and have been asked to re-design the company's website. I have been a graphic design artist for 3 years previously so am thinking of setting up the design in Photoshop, slicing it in Imageready and transferring it to dreamweaver for finishing. I'd say i'm confident using photoshop and, a little less so, Imageready but am a relative newcomer to Dreamweaver. I was hoping some of you could post some good do's and don'ts when importing and add the text in dreamweaver... and anything i may have missed that is necessary to do in Imageready
    I'll post a mock up of the site as i've got at the moment as soon as i can

Thanks everyone. I look forward to chatting to you all in the future on this forum
    Chris

Member #
    I dont think there are really many dos or donts to be honest just make sure your images have been SEO'd and the page isn't to slow to load. There is no right or wrong way with dreamweaver as there is only really one way in which you can add text. Just keep it simple.

The main do's and don'ts will be within photoshop when you are actually working on the design. Adding the text (providing you have a script to work from) is the easy part. Inless you don't have a script. If you don't it can be the hardest part :-D

Member #
    You probably know already but:

- Use a sans-serif font in your site (Verdana, Tahoma)
    - Dreamweaver can sometimes mess up your code, (especially when nesting tables and moving etc) when you use the design view. Make sure you check that your code is optimized and the way you want it

Good luck with your site,
    [Li] Brad
    "Art strives for form, and hopes for beauty." - George Bellows

Member #