Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Double border

  1. #1
    Senior Member Grommet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Stuart, Fl
    Posts
    459
    Member #
    2129
    Liked
    3 times
    Ok this one is mainly for Innocent Kiss since he didnt get my original simplistic explination.

    Were going to start out with an image of your choice, it can be whatever you want .

    1.) Open the image and create a new layer.
    2.) Hit ctrl and a to select all.
    3.) go to Edit>Stroke and set the width to whatever you disire, in my examples i'll be using 1px. I will set my color to black, but again its up to you . You can leave everything else as it is unless you know what it all means and want to change it. Hit ok to apply the stroke.
    4.) Hit ctrl and d to deselect.

    Heres where you should be right now:
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Jason Anderson
    Grommet Designs
    Web / Graphic Design

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member Grommet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Stuart, Fl
    Posts
    459
    Member #
    2129
    Liked
    3 times
    Step 2

    Now to create that other border to create the double border effect

    1.) Select the Rectangular Marquee Tool.
    2.) zoom in quite a bit so you can tell a few pixels apart
    3.) Draw out a box about 1 pixels distance away (on the inside of course) from the first border. You can change the distance to whatever you like.

    Heres where were at now:
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Jason Anderson
    Grommet Designs
    Web / Graphic Design

  4. #3
    Senior Member Grommet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Stuart, Fl
    Posts
    459
    Member #
    2129
    Liked
    3 times
    Step 3

    Time to make that marquee into a border!

    1.) Go Edit>Stroke and the same settings as the first step unless you wish to mix it up
    2.) Hit ok and youll have your border.
    3.) Hit ctrl and d to deselect and zoom out to 100%.
    4.) Walla you have your double border, save it an show your friends.

    I used a bad example, but you still get how to do it . I should have used an image with more freespace on the edges.

    Heres the end result:
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Jason Anderson
    Grommet Designs
    Web / Graphic Design

  5. #4
    Senior Member blindchild02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    214
    Member #
    2030
    i think you should change the name from "double border"

    to "common sense"

    lmao jk. nice tut.
    Carchops.com
    --------------------------------------------
    www.blind-fate.com

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    20
    Member #
    2359
    Maybe I was a little to vague? That's not necessarily what I'm trying to do. I'm trying to get the "fill in" for the second border. If I use the same procedure for the first border, it'll fill in the inside, which is not what I want it to do. I want it to fill in the outside..as shown in this illustration. I'm trying to get that part filled in...not the middle.

    Ugh..shut up blind child, Gee

    [edit] Nevermind, I just changed the stroke to 3px to make it fill in more...duh[/edit]
    Innocent_Kiss
    *muah*

    -Graphic designer...in the making.

  7. #6
    Senior Member Grommet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Stuart, Fl
    Posts
    459
    Member #
    2129
    Liked
    3 times
    Well all you have to do for that is this:

    1.) Do the above tutorial
    2.) Be on the newest layer, the one with the borders on it, and select the magic wand tool.
    3.) Click inside that space you want to fill and it will select it.
    4.) Pick out a color and fill it :P
    5.) Your done.....Again.
    Jason Anderson
    Grommet Designs
    Web / Graphic Design

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    20
    Member #
    2359
    lol alright..I got it, thanks.
    Innocent_Kiss
    *muah*

    -Graphic designer...in the making.

  9. #8
    Senior Member GrandmasterB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    225
    Member #
    1902
    Liked
    1 times
    Here's an easier way:

    1. create a sqaure marquee, and make a 1-pixel stroke...in whatever color you want.

    2. Then choose >layer styles>stroke, and make a 1-pixel stroke with the settings on "outside".

    Gives you the same result as Grommets, with half the steps.

  10. #9
    Senior Member DeltaWeb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    U.S. of A
    Posts
    159
    Member #
    3592
    a Tut i would like to see is how blindchild made his Xamira Logo that X looks pretty hot.
    KRS-ONE....Knowledge Reigns Supreme Over Nearly Everyone....


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:35 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com