Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    7
    Member #
    7053
    Hello -

    I have a website that I'm trying to update to make it standsrds compliant. I have been using StyleMaster to do a bulk of the CSS coding and while it will allow me to preview my work in IE and Firefox, when I upload my code to my site, it will appear fine in IE but Firefox doesn't use the linked stylesheet.

    http://www.sjf.com/working/css/carousel.html

    Does anybody know what's going on here?

    Thanks.
    -Kent

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member glyakk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,263
    Member #
    3828
    Liked
    6 times
    I am willing to bet it is because you are using anabsolute uri. But this is odd as I would not have thought that would cause problems. Try just reffering to it relative to the document. In other words since the css file is in the same directory as the html document use this:
    HTML Code:
    <link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="bluerobot.css" />


  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    7
    Member #
    7053
    NOPE - I have tried it both ways and neither works.

    The only thing I can even think of that might be doing it would be if my server's mime types were not right somehow. Any other suggestions?

    -Kent

  5. #4
    Senior Member glyakk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,263
    Member #
    3828
    Liked
    6 times
    That's not it either because I took your source and put it on my server and it does the same thing. But if I also put the css and call to it relative the document, it works.. I will take a closer look at the source..


  6. #5
    Senior Member glyakk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,263
    Member #
    3828
    Liked
    6 times
    Nevermind, I am in agreeance with you, I did some searching on the problem and have found this is a 'relativly' common problem with some servers. Your markup and css looks perfect.. You might want to let your host know about this.

    Note: this is not a problem with firefox, it is a problem with a mis configured server with incorrectly defined MIME types. Gecko based browsers like firefox, mozilla, netscape, etc.. just happen to pick it up where IE does not.

    One thing you might try: Throw mozilla into querks mode by not specifing a doctype at the top of the document. I have read that might help 'fix' the problem. Although this might end up causing other problems.


  7. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    7
    Member #
    7053
    what did you find out was the problem with the servers because I was just in contact with our sysadmin and he couldn't find ANYTHING at all.

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    7
    Member #
    7053
    nevermind...it worked, but I have a new question, then...why do my little thumbnail images and the borders around them display so strangely in Firefox, but not IE?

  9. #8
    Senior Member glyakk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,263
    Member #
    3828
    Liked
    6 times
    From what I gather..

    The wrong MIME type assigned with *.css. It should be "text/css". I belive it defaults to text/html or text/txt..



Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:35 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com