Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    1,518
    Member #
    5220
    I am having yet more issues with Dreamweaver layer positioning. I only ever have these problems when I do a 100% layout. I have a table - 100% x 100%, fills up the entire screen. I want my layers to be positioned correctly within this table. I have two layers, "Layer 1" and "Layer 2". Layer 1 positions great, it's Layer 2 I'm having problems with. Here's my code for my table:

    <td valign="top" style="position:relative;">
    <div id="Layer1" style="position:absolute; width:100%; height:80; z-index:1; left: 0; top: 0px; background-image: url(sllither02.gif); layer-background-image: url(sllither02.gif); border-bottom: 1px solid #999999"><img src="banner.gif" width="700" height="80"></div>

    <p>&nbsp;</p>
    <p>&nbsp;</p>
    <div id="Layer2" style="position:absolute; width:150; height:100%; z-index:0; left: 0; top: 0px; background-color: #DEDEDE; layer-background-color: #DEDEDE; border-right: 1px solid #999999"></div>
    </td>
    If you need more info just ask. I really hope you can help me, thanks!
    Rednerve
    Creative Freelance Design

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member glyakk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,263
    Member #
    3828
    Liked
    6 times
    What do you want the layers to do?? All you said is it is not positioned correctly..

    another thing.. a number of your values do not specify a unit of measure(%,px,pt,em,ex,etc..). That might be whats causing your problems. but I dont know since I dont know what you are trying to acomplish.


  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    1,518
    Member #
    5220
    I'm trying to get them to move along with the box when it gets resized. You know, like you gave me a tutorial on in an earlier thread (which I tried following but it didn't work this time).

    You get me now?
    Rednerve
    Creative Freelance Design

  5. #4
    Senior Member glyakk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,263
    Member #
    3828
    Liked
    6 times
    Let me break this down.. In your markup, you have a <td> set to position:relative. You then have two <div>s(layers) inside of that <td> both set to position:absolute and both with top and left set to 0px(according to your markup). That will attatch both of your layers to the top left corner. Neither will move when you resize your window.

    It sounds like you are wanting layer2 to move when you resize the window. So you need to attatch it to either the right or bottom depending on the effect you are trying to achieve.


  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    1,518
    Member #
    5220
    I'm tryin to get the same layout with tables. I kinda, slightly didn't understand your post so I'll read through it fully later. Thanks.
    Rednerve
    Creative Freelance Design

  7. #6
    Senior Member justlivyalife's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    2,871
    Member #
    2374
    Trying to expand on glyakk's post:

    Do you want to have layer two in the bottom right corner? If not, where do you want it to be when the window is resized?
    justlivyalife - The future depends on what we do in the present. (Mahatma Gandhi)
    WDF Resources: WDF Rules
    Non-WDF: JavascriptSource | Dynamic Drive | phpBB | HTML-Kit | Winamp | Download Firefox | Morguefile


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:40 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com