Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    1,518
    Member #
    5220
    Is it possible to make a table with a scroll property? I know you can do it with DIVs, but can you do it with tables? I tried adding

    scroll="auto"
    or

    scroll="yes"
    But neither of them worked. So is there a way?

    EDIT: Gylakk, I know you showed me how to do it using DIVs, but is there any way you can do it with just tables?
    Rednerve
    Creative Freelance Design

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member glyakk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,263
    Member #
    3828
    Liked
    6 times
    No you cannot scroll a table, you need to place it inside of another element like a div that is set to "overflow: auto;"


  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    1,518
    Member #
    5220
    OK thanks. That would be great if it weren't for me and CSS Absolute positioning...
    Rednerve
    Creative Freelance Design

  5. #4
    Senior Member Trico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Nottingham, UK
    Posts
    894
    Member #
    5081
    Why can't you just place the <div> inside the <td></td> cells ?

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    1,518
    Member #
    5220
    I tried but it messes up and doesn't move with the browser window. Only if I give the <td> a style="position:relative;" then it kinda works. But for it to move with the <td> I have to set the absolute positioning in percentages.

    I'm sure you don't understand but hey, I kinda got it sorted now.
    Rednerve
    Creative Freelance Design

  7. #6
    Member Spiral's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    50
    Member #
    6612
    If you put the div inside the table and define the dimensions with css it should work perfectly. Set the div to a fixed position.

    (I think)
    spiral.alchemy
    graphic and web design portfolio

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    1,518
    Member #
    5220
    By "a fixed position" do you mean
    positon:absolute
    ?
    Rednerve
    Creative Freelance Design

  9. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    1,518
    Member #
    5220
    Also, it works, but only when I set the absolute positioning in percentages. This messes it up. Because if I position it at a height of 8%, then if the height of the screen changes, then so does the position of the layer.
    Rednerve
    Creative Freelance Design

  10. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    1,518
    Member #
    5220
    And, I thought I heard somewhere that you could add a scroll property to tables using javascript. Is this true?
    Rednerve
    Creative Freelance Design

  11. #10
    Senior Member raspberryh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Erie, PA
    Posts
    882
    Member #
    7208
    Liked
    1 times
    spiral said to define the dimensions, like this:
    <div width=100 height=100>
    choosy developers choose gif!
    website | paintings | blog


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:54 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com