Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    1
    Member #
    702
    i cant seem to get my cellspacing right. the site is http://www.oblivion.net/~katydid/YRNYC.html

    its supposed to look like this: http://www.oblivion.net/~rabbit/yrnyc-1.gif

    when i get the spacing for the top row right, the bottom row doesnt work, and vice versa.

    4 rows by 3 columns.

    the right two cells in the top row joined.

    the left two cells in the bottom 3 rows joined.

    but when all that works, then my cells on the right in the bottom 3 rows are too wide.

    i've used dreamweaver, macromedia contribute, the mozilla composer, and notepad to try and fix this problem, but so far no luck. my code seems right, but it just doesnt work.

  2.  

  3. #2
    Guest
    I found these threads that look to be similar to yours. Do any of them help?



    If they don't a human will be along soon anyway to help you out more.

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Nashville, Tennessee
    Posts
    133
    Member #
    233
    I'm taking a look at it for you now...

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Nashville, Tennessee
    Posts
    133
    Member #
    233
    Okay, go here and look at my code.....

    Granted, it's not exactly "valid" new html code, and it doesn't use style sheets, but it gets the job done. Hopefully it'll help you at least visualize a little better how it should be coded to get it to display things the way you want.

    http://www.scottcleans.com/tests

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Alabama sans the damn flag
    Posts
    263
    Member #
    38
    How do they (http://www.oblivion.net/~rabbit/yrnyc-1.gif) prevent the view source from showing up?
    DerFarm
    I talk to squirrels.
    Squirrels Answer.

  7. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    1
    Member #
    740
    Gif files don't have a source you idiot!
    Stop talking to squirrels and learn file types.

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Nashville, Tennessee
    Posts
    133
    Member #
    233
    Hey, watch it, dude. There's no need to be an ***. And speaking of body parts, not everybody wants to see a picture of a penis when they log on to the bulletin boards, including me...

  9. #8
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    Originally posted by lmao-u-idiot
    Gif files don't have a source you idiot!
    Stop talking to squirrels and learn file types.
    Well you can enjoy your discussions with squirells since you won't be talking to humans here on WDF.
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  10. #9
    Unpaid WDF Intern TheGAME1264's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Not from USA
    Posts
    14,483
    Member #
    425
    Liked
    2783 times
    DerFarm: The reason you can't see the source, as the banned person quite rudely pointed out, is because the "tables" are actually stored in a GIF file.

    katydid: your best solution isn't to visualize what you're trying to do as one big table but a series of tables (4 to be precise). Use a technique called "nesting" (putting a table inside of another table) to get your tables positioned the way that you want.
    If I've helped you out in any way, please pay it forward. My wife and I are walking for Autism Speaks. Please donate, and thanks.

    If someone helped you out, be sure to "Like" their post and/or help them in kind. The "Like" link is on the bottom right of each post, beside the "Share" link.

    My stuff (well, some of it): My bowling alley site | Canadian Postal Code Info (beta)

  11. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Nashville, Tennessee
    Posts
    133
    Member #
    233
    Exactly. That's basically what I did in my code.


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:02 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com