Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    7
    Member #
    7053
    Alright...let's see if I can explain this...

    I have a .content2 class that contains a .thumbs class that is used to display thumbnails of product images.

    The .thumbs class is a square that contains an unordered list of thumbnail images. I would like the .thumbs class to be completely contained inside the .content2 section.

    Right now, the .thumbs class goes outside the bounds of the .content2 section and I can't figure out why.

    The page is here:
    http://www.sjf.com/working/css/carousel.html

    ---------------------------------------

    Also - Does IE not support min-width at all? Is there a way to hack it without using absolute widths?

    Thanks everybody in advance.
    -Kent

  2.  

  3. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    7
    Member #
    7053
    Nevermind...I figured out a workaround. the page is still there if anybody else is curious.

    I still would like to know, however if there is a way to force IE to recognize minimum widths or miminum heights.

    Thanks again.
    -Kent

  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    47
    Member #
    7210
    You should check out the "IE7" addon.

    http://dean.edwards.name/IE7/

    Basically, it uses IE's support for dhtml behaviors to script the browser to support tags and features it wouldn't. You include a 16kb javascript file in your page and code as if you were coding for a modern browser. You can see it working in his test suite.

  5. #4
    Junior Member CrazyP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    13
    Member #
    6653
    Code:
    	min-height:400px;
    	height:expression(400 + "px");
    min-height=mozilla, firefox, and others knows what to do with this, IE doesnt, so IE skips this and goes to the next line

    expression{};=IE specific. works kinda like minimum height since IE automatically expands divs even when its not supposed to. since it wont work in other browsers, they simply skip it and move on to the next line

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    7
    Member #
    7053
    Thanks for the tips, guys.


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:34 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com