Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Hi guys. It's my first time here and I'm so glad I found a site like this. I've been designing websites for personal enjoyment for a couple of years and only really recently discovered CSS and thus, professional looking sites! Haha.

Well, I'm a bit stuck now. I want to make this relatively small, but complex personal project website to have a laugh with some of my friends at university with.

What it will be is a site where I "review" our nights out. Sounds silly I know! Before I continue, here's a menu I mocked up to give you an idea: http://www.lonegunman.co.uk/lloydmor...dent/menu.html

Now here's an idea of how I could do this. Bare with me, this could take a while.

So, to make updating a bit easier I thought making a page with a nice big form on would be good. Boxes on the form for 'Section' (Comedy/Music/Film), 'Date', pictures one and two, 'Title' and the actual review.

From this the form is parsed and the following is done:

Three folders already exist - Music, Film and Comedy.
    A new folder is created in whichever one of these is chosen named by the date (or just an increasing number) in which the two pictures shall be uploaded and a .html file created containing the data (review, etc).

Inside this .html file all the data will be set out according to the rules I decide on and then displayed according to rules I set out in a .css file for all the reviews.

That's it basically.

The other part I was thinking of working out now was the section for the latest three reviews. For this I was thinking of placing a text file on the server whihc can be written to by the server to ammend the data for the three most recently uploaded reviews. The menu will then be generated by reading this.

My questions...