Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Where do i begin...well i'm fairly new to website development and i'm getting to the end of my tether as it were. So here it goes.

What i did was created slices in ImageReady and set the output code to create DIVs positioned with CSS.

First off here's what the site SHOULD look like -> Click <-

And here's what the site looks like when its been uploaded to the web -> Click <- (A funny thing is for me it works fine in IE (v6), for everyone i've asked its screwed up even tho they use v6)

1. Where have my divs gone to? Can anyone tell me why when i preview in both browsers before its uploaded it looks ok, but when its uploaded its screwed up SO much. And i'd love for someone to give me any tips on how to sort it out (However Drastic).

2. For one reason or another, the CSS for the links isn't working, neither the font or the colour -> My CSS <- Why is this?

3. Only a small thing that i'm not really concerned, more curious to know, but the dashed border in the middle is white in IE but Black like its supposed to be in NN and FF.

Thats about it for now, any help what-so-ever is appreciated. Thx

Member #
    this won't be entirely helpful, i suppose, but the hard truth is that professional web developers do not use ImageReady to create their HTML for the most part. These tools are cool and helpful in some cases but the can't yet create reliable HTML, as you can see. I have used IR to create HTML but I only do so in very limited situations, such as when a site is graphically-intense.

If you intend to be a web site developer you need to learn to code by hand. you look at the page and visualize how your TABLEs or DIVs will be laid out to achieve wehat you want and then you go from there.