Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: CSS Drop Downs?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    2
    Member #
    7717
    Okay, I've been agonizing over this for quite a few days. I'm doing a web site template for a friend of mine, and the guy we're doing it for wants drop down menus. I've found a whole bunch of CSS style sheets and needed Javascript programs (to function on IE), but only managed to make one of them even remotely work. All of this is way over my head really, so I thought I'd ask for some help from someone who knows what they are doing. The fact that these menus actually work is great, but now all my hyperlinks show up with that same exact formatting said menus have. Which is no good. To cut this over long message short, I guess I really need some help in finding out what I'm doing wrong. Another problem is they appear uber wide in IE, but are okay in Mozilla. I'm just quite lost, really, heh.

    Here's my aspiring template: http://home.comcast.net/~alamefansite/GraceDMi/

    Here's the CSS template I went from: http://www.xs4all.nl/~peterned/examples/cssmenu.html

    Thanks for any help. If there is any possible, hee.

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member Fallout's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia
    Posts
    543
    Member #
    2748
    The change from IE to Moz could be a difference in the box model, but I suggest this read from A List Apart:
    http://alistapart.com/articles/horizdropdowns/

    You can just change the code within the <li>'s and edit the styles accordingly (the easiest approach)

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    2
    Member #
    7717
    Okay, now I've got the menu action all working great in both Moz and and IE. But now my question is, how do I get it to go from this to horizontal or inline or whatever? The only "simple" ones I've found have been for the vertical ones. And every time I've attempted one of them, it just falls apart. Maybe I should just stick with what I have? Heh.

  5. #4
    Senior Member karinne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Aylmer QC Canada
    Posts
    1,607
    Member #
    4335
    Liked
    8 times
    you mean a vertical drop down... try the one from a list apart -> http://alistapart.com/articles/dropdowns/

    and no it's not the same one as fallout gave you
    [a web design portfolio - Currently NOT AVAILABLE for work | web design | Re-coding | PSD-to-HTML]
    I'm also on: virb - facebook - twitter - flickr - del.icio.us


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:57 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com