Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Member #
    Got a question here, folks... I'm a programmer by trade, so repeatable problems drive me friggin nuts, cause I know I could fix em with a few lines of good 'ole C++.

Are there any programs out there already that take a .css file, parse it, find, say, the elements with padding, and then automatically generate a alternate .css file with the Simplified Box Model Hack(SMBH) or whichever hack you like incorporated for you? I've jsut discovered the error in IE's thinking, and I'm fairly certain I could whip up a program to do this relatively quickly.

Would this be useful, or am I too new to CSS to see the pit falls this would have? Any information and/or comments would be greatly appreciated.

- Chris
    -----------------------------------------------
    I know just enough to be dangerous to myself and others around me... I'm more of a CSS kamikaze than a CSS ninja...

Member #
    Liked
    2 times
    The problem is that IE randomly applies it's box model in different ways each time. There's never a one-patch-fixes-all solution, it's an ever-changing, ever-moving giant. Plus it's not as simple as you'd think. Margins and padding work fishy around the top/bottoms of pages.. how will your program account for that? If IE had some kind of consistency with it's rendering, it would all be good.
    Kyle Neath: Rockstar extraordinare
    The blog | The poetry site | The Spore site

Member #
    For near the top of pages, math. for near the bottom, A comparison of the total height of the elements in the CSS? This wouldn't account for the HTML though, so might not be a very good indicator.