Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    7
    Member #
    7755
    Hello, first of all, I'm new, just found this forum on google. The question I wanted to ask was if anyone knew what might cause unwanted blank space inside an HTML table. I was coding a webpage, and trying to use a table to do a layout from Photoshop slices. Here's the link: http://www.jackson-wallace.net/other...nts/index.html

    If you open the page and do a Select All, you can see a big chunk of blank space on the upper right side. Anyone know what in my source is causing this? Thanks.

  2.  

  3. #2
    Member drewrockshard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Garland (Dallas), Texas
    Posts
    45
    Member #
    4946
    Quote Originally Posted by djchicago
    Hello, first of all, I'm new, just found this forum on google. The question I wanted to ask was if anyone knew what might cause unwanted blank space inside an HTML table. I was coding a webpage, and trying to use a table to do a layout from Photoshop slices. Here's the link: http://www.jackson-wallace.net/other...nts/index.html

    If you open the page and do a Select All, you can see a big chunk of blank space on the upper right side. Anyone know what in my source is causing this? Thanks.
    ahhhhhh the smell of newbies ... gotta love it (JK) welcome to webdesignforums.net!

    ok your website...kinda hard to explain. but this is the jist of it...

    photoshop does this thing when you take your "slices" it makes images and the output is an image tag. Take your html code for example...

    HTML Code:
    <td valign="top"> 
      <img src="images/layout_07.jpg"> 
    </td>
    you should do this. you probably need to set width and height attributes in you code, but thats not the main issue here. that would really help in the long run.

    lets get to the main problem. when photoshop makes these images, it outputs an image tag as i stated above, but what it should do (but isnt programmed to do this) is that you need to make that image a background image for the table cell. if it is white like yours, I reallly wouldnt do this. I would take the image out and calculate the width and heith and make the background of it using the hexadecimal value of "white" (#ffffff). READ ON...

    This is the image background example!

    HTML Code:
    <td valign="top" background="images/layout_07.jpg"> 
      <!-- Table stuff goes here -->
    </td>
    This is the background color example!

    HTML Code:
    <td valign="top" bgcolor="#ffffff" width="specifyWidthHere" height="specifyWidthHere"> 
      <!-- Table stuff goes here -->
    </td>
    i hope this helps somewhat...just reply and tell me how things goes, ill be here to help if yoiu need anything.
    Thanks,
    Drew

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    7
    Member #
    7755
    thanks....

    I got all of what you said. Just to clarify, I'm not actually using photoshop's outputted HTML code, I'm writing it myself. I'm just using the slice images in my page. Anyway, I'm in the process of rewriting the page now. I'll post it when I'm done. Also, here's another page I did the same way:
    www.jackson-wallace.net/other/

    As you can see, I did the table by putting the images inside the cells - a bad practice I picked up from studying the generated photoshop code...

  5. #4
    Member drewrockshard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Garland (Dallas), Texas
    Posts
    45
    Member #
    4946
    ok ill be waiting for ure output

    thanks
    Thanks,
    Drew

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    7
    Member #
    7755
    Not done yet, but I've run into another problem... The cells aren't conforming to their defined width/height boundaries (you can take a look at the same URL). rowspan and colspan seem to reduce the problem, but I think there's something I haven't done yet that I need to. Any advice?

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    47
    Member #
    7210
    I think you want to avoid spaces between table tags. I've never known line breaks to have an effect, but I remember that some browsers would translate a space in the code as a space in the output, and it could break things.

    Not that that's necessarily the case here, as I've only glanced at the code.


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

html table blank space at the top

,

html website layout blank space help

Click on a term to search for related topics.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:37 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com