Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Alabama sans the damn flag
    Posts
    263
    Member #
    38
    I have frames page which works quite well. Unless a user has timed out and then comes back to the page (went out to lunch for example and then comes back and starts clicking)

    At this point, the site is supposed to send the user to the Login page ... which it does. But I'm stuck in the frameset which is hinky to say the least.

    How do I make the Login Page goto _top? I assume that I can do it in the page itself. I just can't find an example.
    DerFarm
    I talk to squirrels.
    Squirrels Answer.

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    I think you'd have to make a redirector using a META tag. Nothing else comes to mind.
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  4. #3
    Unpaid WDF Intern TheGAME1264's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Not from USA
    Posts
    14,483
    Member #
    425
    Liked
    2783 times
    This thread question was already answered here:

    http://www.webdesignforums.net/thread5331.html
    If I've helped you out in any way, please pay it forward. My wife and I are walking for Autism Speaks. Please donate, and thanks.

    If someone helped you out, be sure to "Like" their post and/or help them in kind. The "Like" link is on the bottom right of each post, beside the "Share" link.

    My stuff (well, some of it): My bowling alley site | Canadian Postal Code Info (beta)

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Alabama sans the damn flag
    Posts
    263
    Member #
    38
    That particular answer won't work, because I can't have target=parent .... target has to = the frameset name. It IS exceptional (hopefully) that the idiot user will time out and then try to do stuff.

    I did, however find this:

    Code:
    <SCRIPT LANGUAGE="JavaScript">
    //<--
    if(top.document != this.document)
    {
    top.document.location.href = this.document.location.href;
    }
    //--> 
    </script>
    which, when put at the top of the target page (in this case the login screen) forces the page to redirect itself (logically, if not really) to the _top.

    I don't know if the // and // are REALLY needed, but for me it didn't work until I had both sets.
    DerFarm
    I talk to squirrels.
    Squirrels Answer.

  6. #5
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    Rewritten to conform to proper standards:
    Code:
    <script type="text/javascript">
    <!--
    if (top.document != this.document)
    {
        top.document.location.href = this.document.location.href;
    }
    // -->
    </script>
    There shouldn't be the initial // . BTW the comments are just an ancient technique to hide the JS code from POS browsers that don't support Javascript and will just display the code in the page instead.
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Alabama sans the damn flag
    Posts
    263
    Member #
    38
    That "standard", Arian, gives my IE6 fits. I get error messages without the leading //

    Go figure


    Just re-checked to make sure I hadn't done anything stupid. Without the first // it gives error messages .... at least on mine


    on further looking, I put "!" in the code (like you have it) and now I get no error messages ... I'm trying to see if it works as I type...


    I must have had some other error in there. It works fine. Thanks
    DerFarm
    I talk to squirrels.
    Squirrels Answer.

  8. #7
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    HTML comments always have the <!-- so that's probably the problem.
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:00 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com