Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    13
    Member #
    5961
    I have created a page divided by three frames set at 10% 80% and 10% and they show up no problem I have two dificulties:
    1) When I set FRAMEBORDER TO "0" I still see a narrow border, How do I get rid of the border? I want the frames to be there but not be visable.

    2) All I want in each of the side frames is a background graphic. I am linking it using the <BODY BACKGROUND = "my picture.gif"></BODY> but nothing appears.

    There is no other material in the two frames.

    Any ideas what I am doing wrong?

    Thanks in advance
    paradigm

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member seanmiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Glastonbury, UK
    Posts
    868
    Member #
    3263
    Liked
    1 times
    Can you post a link to the page in question? Easier to establish what's wrong if one can see it...

    Sean

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    13
    Member #
    5961
    Thanks Sean

    Unfortunately, this is a page on my lap top that I amplaying with so there is no way to give you a link. If it helps, here is the simple HTML that sets the page into three frames:
    <HTML>
    <HEAD>
    <TITLE>TITLE IS HERE>
    </HEAD>
    <FRAMESET COLS = "10%, 80%, 10%">
    <FRAME NAME = FRAME1 NORESIZE SRC = "link.html" FRAMEBORDER = "0">
    <FRAME NAME = FRAME2 NORESIZE SRC = "link2.html" FRAMEBORDER = "0">
    <FRAME NAME = FRAME3 NORESIZE SRC = "link3.html" FRAMEBORDER = "0">
    </FRAMESET>
    </HTML>

    This divides the page up just fine into three frames but there is still a thin line between each of the frames even though I have the FRAMEBORDER set to "0". What I am trying to accomplish is to have a page with three frames but from the viewer's standpoint, it will look like just one contguous page.
    Thanks for your time and help.
    Paradigm

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    1,518
    Member #
    5220
    Simple answer to this question...don't use frames!
    Rednerve
    Creative Freelance Design

  6. #5
    Senior Member seanmiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Glastonbury, UK
    Posts
    868
    Member #
    3263
    Liked
    1 times
    Try adding framespacing="0" to your FRAMESET tag -- not the individual frame, but the frameset.

    Sean

  7. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    13
    Member #
    5961
    Thanks Sean!

    Thanks Sean,

    Adding the framspacing="0" tag did the trick. I can't tell you how much I appreciate you time and trouble.

    Believe me Will7, I was just about to follow your advice but, darn it, I didn't want HTML to defeat me on such a simple issue!

    Thanks again everybody!
    Dr. P

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    1,518
    Member #
    5220
    On this occasion, I'd let HTML defeat you. For all the trouble your going through, I wouldn't bother because it really isn't worth it!
    Rednerve
    Creative Freelance Design

  9. #8
    WDF Staff smoseley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    9,729
    Member #
    819
    Liked
    205 times
    will,

    That's not a helpful answer. Nor is it a beneficial opinion.

    Frames are useful at times, and although they're rarely used, knowledge is ALWAYS preferable to ignorance.

  10. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    1,518
    Member #
    5220
    In answer to question 1, when I use Dreamweaver WYSIWYG editor, when I select a frame, I have to look in the properties and delete everything in the border property. Not put 0 or anything in, just delete everything, for some reason, it makes a difference.

    Number 2, I don't know and sorry transio .
    Rednerve
    Creative Freelance Design

  11. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    47
    Member #
    7210
    <FRAME NAME = FRAME1 NORESIZE SRC = "link.html" FRAMEBORDER = "0">
    <FRAME NAME = FRAME2 NORESIZE SRC = "link2.html" FRAMEBORDER = "0">
    <FRAME NAME = FRAME3 NORESIZE SRC = "link3.html" FRAMEBORDER = "0">
    Please tell me there aren't spaces around the equals signs in your actual code.


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:03 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com