Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    97
    Member #
    278
    Hello all,
    I have a project where I need to show on our companies intranet the contents of an Excel file. The file contains names and Phone numbers for services (40/office) in that office, and in each of the companies offices (7). There are only 4 columns.

    My vision is a series of dropdown lists. First dropdown is loaded with the 7 offices the second is loaded with the service desired. Then a click of a go button and the output is displayed with the name and phone number of that service provider.

    How do I do this? Simple ehe..

    Any directions, examples, or tutorials would be greatly appreciated.

  2.  

  3. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    97
    Member #
    278
    I seem to find some answers to my own questions..

    http://www.alistapart.com/articles/dropdowns/

    Does anyone else have any thing different than this? Other ideas?

  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    97
    Member #
    278
    This will be too difficult for the # of entries I have under services.

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    97
    Member #
    278
    Quote Originally Posted by David_McPherson
    This will be too difficult for the # of entries I have under services.
    Anyone with ideas?

  6. #5
    Senior Member james's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    364
    Member #
    1352
    So you have 1 sheet/office, and each sheet has 4 cols by ~40 rows, containing contact data? I can set you in the right direction if you're able to go to server side PHP, and you're willing to export to the website the excel sheets as tab-delimited text.
    James H
    Home Page · Mars Page · www.fihsf1.net (formerly www·fihs·net)

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    97
    Member #
    278
    I am willing..

    I have PHP loaded on the Windows box.

    Is this something which as they are updated weekly I can update the site fairly easily?


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:27 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com