Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Member #
    Ok, Where to begin... Pardon my length..

I'm a Novice web guy, as a matter of fact I'm the IT/LAN person for a remote office of our company. I stepped up to assist the web 'stuff' when the previous webmaster left the company. And, instead of spending the $$ on a new webmaster they tossed updates and minor changes in my lap. (See previous posts by me)

The site itself needs a redesign, yet the company will not be spending the money to have this accomplished. This is where I come in. And I'd love the help from some experts... You guys..

My task is navigation, the navigation on this Intranet is horrible and making changes to the overall navigation is time consuming and frankly stupid, I don't know who designed this but its very poor. There are more than 207 pages in this intranet and when one small navigational edit happens a web person must touch each and every page to finalize the change.

There has got to be a better way to navigate this website.

Questions:
    • How can I create one navigation area which will follow the site on all pages. What is the best way to do this?
    • What about dropdown / slide over lists, some of the categories in my example have 4 and 5 sub categories. How should this be accomplished?
    • Making adjustments to this page has been a challenge, it was created by a consultant some years ago and needs an update. Do you have any recommendations?

I'll attach a copy of the code for the site.

Member #