Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    20
    Member #
    9129
    The site is:

    http://www.pittsburghteamhq.com/

    If you view it in mozilla everything is fine, but in internet explorer there's little white gaps between for instance, the top (black) banner and the image map (the gray thing with ncaa, nfl, mlb, etc) underneath it.

    I'm using pretty standard tables and php includes for the formatting, and cannot figure out for the life of me why this happens in IE and not mozilla.

    Does anyone have any ideas on what typically causes this?

  2.  

  3. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    9
    Member #
    8527
    Remove all table boarders
    <table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="776" align="center">

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    20
    Member #
    9129
    Unfortunately, the page looks REALLY bad without the borders being in place. Not sure if the borders are the problem or not, I'll give that a shot just to see (though I couldn't bring myself to leave it without the borders) if that's the problem when I get home tonight.

  5. #4
    Senior Member Trico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Nottingham, UK
    Posts
    894
    Member #
    5081
    Is there a reason why you're using multiple sets of <html> and <body> tags? I wasn't under the impression that SSI needed these to work, (I could be wrong though.)

    Getting into the habbit of using doctypes helps maintain the consistency of how the html is interpreted between browsers, or atleast IE.

    You may also wish to run your code through something like Dreamweaver to clear up the formatting and removing any white space you inadvertently created.

    ...width="258.6666"
    Saw this and became curious, I'm quite sure you can only have whole number values of pixels purely down to the way a monitor renders a display.

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    20
    Member #
    9129
    Quote Originally Posted by Trico
    Is there a reason why you're using multiple sets of <html> and <body> tags? I wasn't under the impression that SSI needed these to work, (I could be wrong though.)

    Getting into the habbit of using doctypes helps maintain the consistency of how the html is interpreted between browsers, or atleast IE.
    Hmmm, good catch. That was unintentional and came from the fact that I was including other php and html files. For instance there's a file called navHeaders.html that controls the image map for the gray image I was talking about earlier (with ncca, nfl, mlb, etc on it), and it starts with the <html> tags. So when I used a php include for navHeaders.html, it's now using that set of html tags as well. I was under the impression that I would need those tags in there for it to work though, correct? Perhaps just taking the <body> tags out will do the trick, I'll give it a shot when I get home.

    Quote Originally Posted by Trico
    Saw this and became curious, I'm quite sure you can only have whole number values of pixels purely down to the way a monitor renders a display.
    I think you're right, but I don't think that contributed to this issue (it's width not height).

  7. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    20
    Member #
    9129
    Sorry about the delayed reply here, I've been out of town for a while.

    Anyhow, I tried taking out the extra <html> and <body> tags and unfortunately that didn't do the trick.

    Any other ideas as to what might be causing the whitespace?

  8. #7
    Senior Member raspberryh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Erie, PA
    Posts
    882
    Member #
    7208
    Liked
    1 times
    hi,
    i took a look at your page and you still have multiple html and body tags. but what i think may be the spacing problem is that you have a lot of spacing between your <td> and whatever is inside the <td>. you probably remember that in the html code, if you put just a regular space, the browser interprets it as a space - but if you want more spaces after that, you have to put &nbsp... well, don't forget about that 1 space that can cause a space in your layout. it has happened to me before. so, try eliminating spaces inside of your <td>s, like this:
    <td>table cell, other stuff</td>
    instead of like this:
    <td>
    table cell, other stuff
    </td>
    i know the source code doesn't look as pretty, but try it - it may solve your problem.
    choosy developers choose gif!
    website | paintings | blog

  9. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    20
    Member #
    9129
    Got ya, I'll give that a shot.

  10. #9
    sem
    sem is offline
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    6
    Member #
    9413
    Put this in all your image tags: align="top"
    and it will work.

    <img src="BannerSteelers.jpg" align="top">

    (hate Explorer)

    sem


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:00 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com