Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Sorry if this in the wrong place. I wasn't sure where it went best as it covers a load of different technologies.

This is my first post and I am a mere novice so bear with me!

I have been developing a website for a musician friend of mine I have stumbled on the PNG transparency problem in IE very late on in the game.

Sadly this has scuppered my site rather badly, and although I have managed to sort some of the problems raised by this issue with the sleight.js script, I haven't fixed all the problems.

Basically the page consists of a bunch of presliced images acting as cell backgrounds in PNG format. Atop of these sits the dynamic, changing content.

In the content window I have made considerable use of image mapping to act as links for javascript window openers and additionaly, on some pages I wish to scroll the content image while keeping the background cell image stationery.

While the sleight script fixes the transparency issue it prevents the use of image maps and the use of scrolling.

http://www.eyesite-design.co.uk/giles/media.html

On this page I had individual image maps over each of the gallery pictures.These were inoperative after the workaround was completed.

http://www.eyesite-design.co.uk/giles/biography.html

On this page I want to allow the cell to be scrollable, thus allowing the full biography to be read while the background image of the sunset stays put. Before implementing the fix script this worked fine using the css overflow command. Now in IE, it doesn't scroll.

Anyone who could offer a solution to this problem I would be most grateful to. Please bear with me I am a relative novice and have probably set myself up for problems.

Thanks in advance,

Regards

Tony

Member #
    Advice / Question