Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 45

Thread: RSS Stuff

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Malta
    Posts
    143
    Member #
    9468
    Hi mates. I want to do something with this RSS, but I have never worked with this technology, so I need some help from you profs. All I know about RSS is that you can link sort of news from a website to your website (and you would have titles of the news submitted in the other website).

    Now my question is, I submit news in a website, and would like to use this technology with MY website.

    Any help of how to do this? Here are the links:

    My Website
    RSS code from the other Website

  2.  

  3. #2
    WDF Staff Wired's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    7,657
    Member #
    1234
    Liked
    138 times
    Repeat the info from <item> to </item> as necessary to create each news entry. Assuming you are going to have a news feed or a blog or whatever, you would simply integrate the RSS feed page with it. That is to say, when you update the news feed / blog / whatever on the website, it will automatically update the RSS feed. Anything on the page will be in the RSS feed. Without some reference info on your site, it's a bit hard to explain further. The PC Support Forum one is built right into vB. Whenever a new thread is created, the RSS feed is updated as well. WDF has one for instance. Look at the VERY VERY bottom of each page it says RSS version. http://www.webdesignforums.net/external.php?type=rss

    Here's the basic format of an RSS feed:

    Code:
      <?xml version="1.0" encoding="ISO-8859-1" ?> 
      <!DOCTYPE rss (View Source for full doctype...)> 
      <rss version="0.91">
    
        <channel>
    
        <title>TITLE OF NEWS FEED</title> 
    
        <link>LINK TO WEB SITE</link> 
    
        <description>DESCRIPTION OF WEB SITE</description> 
    
          <item>
            <title>TITLE OF NEWS ITEM # 1</title> 
            <link>LINK TO NEWS ITEM # 1 ON WEBSITE</link> 
            <description>
              <![CDATA[ 
          DESCRIPTION OF NEWS ITEM # 1 (or partial / full repost of news item #1)
              ]]> 
    
            </description>
          </item>
    
          <item>
            <title>TITLE OF NEWS ITEM # 2</title> 
            <link>LINK TO NEWS ITEM # 2 ON WEBSITE</link> 
            <description>
              <![CDATA[ 
          DESCRIPTION OF NEWS ITEM # 2 (or partial / full repost of news item #2)
              ]]> 
    
            </description>
          </item>
    
        </channel>
    
      </rss>
    The Rules
    Was another WDF member's post helpful? Click the like button below the post.

    Admin at houseofhelp.com

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Malta
    Posts
    143
    Member #
    9468
    Yes, so that should be the code from the website which has the news on it. Now, if I want the news of that website to be viewed on mine, how can I do that?

    Take a look at my current website, at the side there's written 'insert information here ...' Now I want thechnology news from the website I told you, to be viewed there

  5. #4
    WDF Staff Wired's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    7,657
    Member #
    1234
    Liked
    138 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Daninku
    Yes, so that should be the code from the website which has the news on it. Now, if I want the news of that website to be viewed on mine, how can I do that?

    Take a look at my current website, at the side there's written 'insert information here ...' Now I want thechnology news from the website I told you, to be viewed there
    Don't see that on the page, but you're basically asking how to parse an RSS feed.

    Automatic RSS Feed Creator
    http://www.bitfolge.de/rsscreator-en.html

    RSS Feed:
    http://www.phpfreaks.com/quickcode/RSS-Feed/261.php
    Small script to syndicate an RSS news feed. Requires PEAR HTML_Tables and XML_RSS to be installed. For more info visit http://pear.php.net or http://www.fragtech.net
    RSS Feed Validator
    http://feedvalidator.org/

    Simple RSS Parser:
    http://www.phpfreaks.com/quickcode/S...Parser/315.php

    Here's an easy way to parse RSS feeds, however you're dependent on the site to process the RSS for you:
    http://www.rss-to-javascript.com
    The Rules
    Was another WDF member's post helpful? Click the like button below the post.

    Admin at houseofhelp.com

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Malta
    Posts
    143
    Member #
    9468
    Thanks for the information mate.

    http://www.fragtech.net/ is a good example how I want news to be displayed in my website. Sorry if I was not clear, basically on the right side of my website there's written, 'You can Add Information Here...' - 'Put information here in this line' etc...
    (http://www.gameserverforum.com/)

    From what I can understand, some of the links you gave me are different RSS Feeders, and I have to choose right? Is it possible to guide me to the right track please, and how can I code this? I have never worked with html and stuff, so I know nothing :dead:

    Thanks again

    Daniel

  7. #6
    WDF Staff Wired's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    7,657
    Member #
    1234
    Liked
    138 times
    Do you know PHP at all?

    http://www.phpfreaks.com/quickcode/S...Parser/315.php

    Easiest one. Just edit line 4 ($newsfeed = 'http://url/to/file.xml'
    The Rules
    Was another WDF member's post helpful? Click the like button below the post.

    Admin at houseofhelp.com

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Malta
    Posts
    143
    Member #
    9468
    I don't get it lol. I tried to copy that code into the index.html file and change the url in line 4. But all I can see is the code in the website then. I am using Alleycode HTML Editor if this helps.

  9. #8
    WDF Staff Wired's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    7,657
    Member #
    1234
    Liked
    138 times
    It's PHP, not HTML. Does your host support PHP? file needs to end in php, not .html, assuming your host supports it.
    The Rules
    Was another WDF member's post helpful? Click the like button below the post.

    Admin at houseofhelp.com

  10. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Malta
    Posts
    143
    Member #
    9468
    When I go to the CPanel, and click on PHP info, I get this message:

    Sorry, your current hosting plan doesn't support the requested feature.
    Please contact server admin to upgrade plan.

    Pre-installed scripts are:

    CGI Center
    Agora Shopping Cart
    Java/SGI Chatroom
    PhpMyChat Room
    Search Engine Submit

  11. #10
    WDF Staff Wired's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    7,657
    Member #
    1234
    Liked
    138 times
    What host do you have, and what plan do you have with them?
    The Rules
    Was another WDF member's post helpful? Click the like button below the post.

    Admin at houseofhelp.com


Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:26 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com