Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    4
    Member #
    957
    hey guys i have a question about a dhtml/css menu that I am building
    in IE 5.2 on Mac OS X it displays properly, but when I view it on a PC running win xp pro and using IE 6 the pop ups are outa place, what gives?
    Heres theURL for the menu if you need to look at what I am refering to

    CLICK ME!

    Thanks in advance
    TJ

  2.  

  3. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    4
    Member #
    957
    to add to the misery I jus downloaded Netscape 7.02 for Mac OS X and it displays it in correctly as well *UGGGGH* what am I doing wrong?
    *sigh*

  4. #3
    Senior Member splufdaddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,488
    Member #
    735
    Haha, trying to make something work on all platforms j/k, it's hard to do, but keep trying. Here's a thread regarding menus you may find helpful:
    Drop down Menus
    If you're using a PC platform I reccomend Sothink that is mentioned in the above thread.

  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    4
    Member #
    957
    thanks i have sothink at home i ll build a menu and send it to work
    *sigh* friggin mac ugggggggh

  6. #5
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    Try it in Safari because that'll quickly dominate or come close to dominating OS X browsers.
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  7. #6
    WDF Staff smoseley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    9,729
    Member #
    819
    Liked
    205 times
    I reviewed the script and I think found your problem.

    It's this line:
    Code:
    function getOffset (el, offset) {
      return el[offset] + (el.offsetParent?getOffset (el.offsetParent, offset) : 0);
    }
    IE and Netscape handle the offsetParent property differently. The confusing part, though is that this looks like it would work for IE and NOT for Netscape.

    I don't know what to tell you except that the script is obviously not written for cross-client compatibility. You should find one that is.

    hierMenus is a popular one.

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    4
    Member #
    957
    thanks for your replys, I tried it in Safari and it didnt work either, looks like the only browser that it is working in is IE 5.2 for mac
    Wouldnt happen to have a link for hierMenus?
    Thanks again TJ

  9. #8
    WDF Staff smoseley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    9,729
    Member #
    819
    Liked
    205 times
    [searchweb]hiermenus[/searchweb]


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:57 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com