Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Hi All,
    I am relatively new to HTML. I am currently doing a site based on frames. There is a main frame at the top of the page, one at the side for menus and a content one to display the main content.

When I click buttons on the top bar I need for it to call different pages within the frames on both the menu column and the content page...

Is there any way a link can call two pages or maybe if the link called one page and that page then opened the other?

Many Thanks

Member #
    Javascript I think, along the lines of onLoad='javascript:menu.location="page.html"'. I'm not terribly sure, but it should be like that.

Member #
    You can do it with javascript. Basically, the link would call a function that would then change the URL (document.location) property of each frame.

As for actual details, one thing to think about: should the link at the top bar change both frames or should it change the contents frame and then the contents frame loads the new menu? Personally, I suggest having the latter (serial) approach.

It's past midnight, so I won't attempt writing the code off the top of my head right now. Try the following:

http://www.google.co.uk/search?hl=en...G=Search&meta=

http://www.google.co.uk/search?q=win...G=Search&hl=en

And in particular, I think this page is quite useful:
    http://tech.irt.org/articles/js013/
    See their example at the very end. It's exactly what you want

Hope this helps. Good night.
    eKstreme
    eKstreme.com - Free website tools!
    fontfox - free fonts Hand-picked quality fonts.

Member #
    javascript would be your best bet i can think of two ways
    1)a function call:
    Code:
      function changec(page1,page2) 
    {
    frame1.location = page1