Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    40
    Member #
    866
    i want to build a website but it will be a large one, on this site i will have a latest reviews section in the sidebar, anyway it will havre the latest reviews under text links that go to the actual page. but what if some of the pages get really old and the latest reviews change i dont wanna go through 500 pages of html and redo the links in that sidebar every time theres a new review. so what do i do, i thought of using frames but dismissed the idea immediatly as that would make thew links open up in that frame. so my question is: is there a way to make a block in a sidebar easily editable from one source and have it affect all the pages of html in my domain every time i want to edit the block on one external source?????

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member splufdaddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,488
    Member #
    735
    depending on the server you're using, you can use PHP to do this. I know next to nothing about PHP, but one thing I do know about is the php "require" function. It's really easy to use, but your server needs to have php installed. An older technology, shtml can do this also. Does your server have php?

  4. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    40
    Member #
    866
    it does but i dont want to use php as i dont know a line of code from php

  5. #4
    WDF Staff smoseley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    9,729
    Member #
    819
    Liked
    205 times
    You can use server side includes with PHP, ASP, or SHTML. It's basically the same as HTML, but you add something like this:

    <!--#Include File="file_path.htm"--> and the server will paste the HTML from "file_path.htm" into your page.

    It's really handy for creating navigations, as well as headers and footers for all your html pages (banners, top navigation, bottom navigation, etc.)

    Here's a thread where I showed an example of how to do it:

    http://www.webdesignforums.net/showt...5519#post68869

  6. #5
    Unpaid WDF Intern TheGAME1264's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Not from USA
    Posts
    14,483
    Member #
    425
    Liked
    2783 times
    What transio said. The include file is an excellent tool for providing an exterior layout without the use of frames or iframes.
    If I've helped you out in any way, please pay it forward. My wife and I are walking for Autism Speaks. Please donate, and thanks.

    If someone helped you out, be sure to "Like" their post and/or help them in kind. The "Like" link is on the bottom right of each post, beside the "Share" link.

    My stuff (well, some of it): My bowling alley site | Canadian Postal Code Info (beta)

  7. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    40
    Member #
    866
    i found out how to do it with the frames, i just had to targeyt the links in the iframe to top...


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:20 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com